BHC Pic of the Week- Tribute to JP: Nr. 13

I think I hear faint whispers

As I cross the abandoned bridge

And climb the mountain far ahead

To reach the topmost ridge.

.

I see the hills that lie beyond

Then descend to the valley below

Where sweethearts have a trysting place

As their parents long ago.

.

I pause to look at the tumbled bridge

With its old, moss-covered roof

And in fancy I hear again

The sound of plodding hoof.

.

I seem to hear the swallows

As back and forth they go,

Carrying mud to build their nests

Under the eaves to low.

.

The bridge, which JP photographed in 2011 was the Orient Bridge in Pickaway County in Ohio. I won’t go further with that structure, except I wrote an article and included a clip from History in your Own Backyard by Satolli Glassmeyer. To learn more about the bridge, click here.